Becoming Jane, Tom Selleck, and Jack Palance

jane.jpg

Mr. McAvoy was the faun in Narnia then the irresponsible doc in The Last King of Scotland. I don’t recall his blue blue eyes in either one of those shows. The were more noticeable in Children of Dune. This movie is a fictionalized drama based on the life of Jane Austen and follows Pride and Prejudice up to a point. I can’t say how it deviates for fear of spoiling it. I liked it and will give it 3/5 acorns. The scenery is gorgeous and the castles amazing. I have to admit, I have never made it through any of Jane Austen’s books, but I have loved every single movie based on them that I have watched, including at least 3 versions of Pride and Prejudice.

I watched Stone Cold on the tube. Tom Selleck plays a divorced LA policeman who moves to a small town to become sheriff. Apparently this is the first of 3 stories based on this character. A serial killer shows up in the small town and Tom is on them in a second. Of course he has his personal dramas and also has to solve a rape case along the way. He also acquires a dog and loses a girlfriend. He is still attached to his ex, and the bottle. I was entertained. Mr Selleck is aging well. He isn’t the deepest actor, but many shows need a Marlboro man. OMG, I just read that Tom was never the Marlboro man. Wonder who started that rumor?

The show is not too original but entertaining.  I will give it 2/5 acorns.  Some dead bodies show up so the clive avoiders can turn away, but it is made for TV, so no real brain spatter on innards.

marlboro.jpg

Another TV movie I watched was Living with the Dead. Ted Danson talks to the dead. In fact the dead seek him out and try to get him to solve the mysteries of their deaths. Stephen Gyllenhal, dad of Maggie and Jake directs. Queen Latifah is also in this show. She plays a close friend of Ted who is dying of cancer. Mary Steenburgen is a detective who enlists Ted’s aid in solving murders. Jack Palance, the man I love to hate, showed up as his dad. He played a lot of bad guys in his day, and had just the face for it. Just the typical Ukrainian cowboy. He passed away in 2006, acording to IMDB after a very long career. IMDB also mentions he was in, “the biblical bomb”, The Silver Chalice. I will digress a bit to take issue with that. I loved the book which I borrowed twice from the church library, and hey, Paul Newman was in it, too. This movie was made in 2002, 3 years after the Sixth Sense the quintescential talking to the dead movie, imo.  Another not too original show, but entertaining and worth 2/5 acorns.

1 Comment

  1. ragan said,

    September 1, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    Sorry I have been a slacking blogger lately!! I have missed all of your movie reviews!!


Leave a Reply

