Catching up the Netflix Queue

The Animations: Beowulf, Renaissance.

Family Fare: Lost in the Barrens, Railway Children, Goodnight Mr. Tom

Big Screen: Juno

Classics: The Idiot

British TV: MI5

So many movies so little time.  I was surprised by Juno.  I resisted seeing it and found a funny, charming movie.  Perhaps I wrote about it before.

MI5 is pretty exciting, but not as engaging as  my last British series.  I keep moving it down on the list, so perhaps I will not complete the series.

The Idiot is directed by Akira Kurosawa and stars a very young Toshiro Mifune.  I never read the Dostoevsky book. This movie was utterly impossible to follow and after reading about it, I know why.  It was just cut because it was too long, over 200 minutes and so the story lacks continuity and connection.  I can’t recommend it unless just to study parts and cinemtagraphy and to see see Toshiro Mifune in the early days.

The family fare, especially The Railway Children were all average but entertaining.

Both animations were quite good.  Beowulf has a different story line then the life action rendition.  It has some great dragons.  The animation was very gamelike in parts and I found that a bit distracting.  Renaissance takes place in France and is black and white.  The story is complex and futuristic and sad.

Leave a Reply

