Spygame and I am Legend, reviews

Spy Game stars Brad Pitt and Robert Redford. Redford is a CIA agent on his last day at work. Brad Pitt is an ex-agent he had trained after then met in Vietnam. They have a falling out during a Mideast caper and Brad goes his own way. Brad has fallen in love with a British exile. She ends up being captured by the Chinese and he goes to rescue her. He gets caught and the political forces in American want to write him off and keep it quiet, since it’s an election year. Marianne Jean-Baptiste is wonderful as Redford’s secretary and they pull the wool over the uptight Stephen Dilane in a effort to get Brad and his girlfriend out of Su Chau prision. It was entertaining, because of course it had Brad Pitt in it, but Redford was not quite convincing, imo. I will rate it 2.5/5 acorns.

I am Legend is based on one of my favorite sci fi novels, by Richard Matheson. I still have my book, somewhat tattered and spotted I got from the Friends of the Library sale some time ago for 2 bucks. The two other movies I saw based on this story, the 1971 Charlton Heston version, Omega Man and 1964’s The Last Man on Earth were both pretty disappointing. I had a hard time visualizing Will Smith as Neville so I put off seeing it. One of my horror buff imaginary friends urged me to see it and he really doesn’t like Will Smith at all, so I thought, what the heck. The movie doesn’t follow the book much. It is very updated. The creatures are pretty cool. As it turned out I like it very much. In fact I wished it was a little longer. I will rate it 4/5 acorns. Dog lovers better not watch this movie. Mr. Smith surprised me and was very good.i_am_legend_will_smith__1_.jpg

Leave a Reply

